Ohio Green primary set for Tuesday

On Tuesday 4 May, the Ohio Green Party will have its first statewide primary. Several Greens are running for Congress as write-in candidates, meaning that they need at least 25 votes in Tuesday’s primary to appear on the November ballot.

These candidates need 25 or more votes in the primary tomorrow:

  • Rich Stevenson – 1st Congressional District (Cincinnati and surrounding areas in SW Ohio)
  • Bob Fitrakis – 12th Congressional District (Columbus and surrounding areas)
  • Elaine Mastromatteo – 17th Congressional District (NE Ohio including Kent, Ravenna, Warren and Youngstown)

Other Ohio Green Party candidates include Dennis Spisak for Governor, Anita Rios for Lieutenant Governor, Pat Saunders for State Senate District 13, Corey Ansel for State Representative District 22, Dennis Lambert for State Representative District 89, and Ty Collinsworth for State Representative District 92.

You can invite your friends and family in Ohio to vote in the Green primary on facebook.

The Akron Beacon Journal recently published an in-depth look at minor parties on the ballot in Ohio, including interviews with Elaine Mastromatteo and OHGP spokesperson Russ Buckbee.


Ohio Green removed from ballot on technicality

From Richard Winger at Ballot Access News:

Pat Saunders, a Green Party member running in the Ohio Green Party primary for the legislature, has been removed from the ballot. One of his circulators is considered to be ineligible to circulate a petition for a candidate running in a Green Party primary, because in 2008 she voted in a Democratic primary. See this story.

Saunders could still be the Green nominee if he receives 25 votes write-in votes in the Green Party primary. However, he must file as a declared write-in quite soon, in order to attempt that.