Moyowasifza-Curry campaigns in Maine

curryMaine’s Biddeford Courier interviews Green Party presidential candidate Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry, who is campaigning in Maine in advance of Green Party caucuses there. The newspaper says Moyowasifza-Curry was “the first presidential candidate to visit a caucus in Maine this year.”

Moyowasifza-Curry said she “became a Green to bring diversity to the party and to help broaden its appeal.” She said, “White privilege exists in our party. I looked around to find what party had values similar to mine and it was the Green Party. The only thing it didn’t have was people of color.”

She said her time spent living in Ghana changed her perspective. Moyowasifza-Curry said, “Being there made me a better American because I saw the impact of our polices that was hurting them. You all know we cannot sustain what we have right now. … I think we have enough heart and brain to sustain our species despite our stupidity.”


Unofficial results show Stein easily winning Massachusetts Green-Rainbow Party presidential primary

greenrainbowUnofficial results in the Massachusetts Green-Rainbow Party presidential primary show Jill Stein winning with 51.8% of the vote. Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry received 9.5%, Darryl Cherney 3.6%, Bill Kreml 3.6%, and Kent Mesplay 2.6%. “No Preference” received 12.8%, with the remaining votes assorted write-ins.


Stein wins in Boston and Worcester

greenrainbowStatewide results in the Massachusetts Green Rainbow Party presidential primary are not yet available, but several cities and towns have reported their results.

In Boston, Jill Stein received 82 votes (58.2%), Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry 9 (6.4%), Bill Kreml 6 (4.3%), Darryl Cherney 3 (2.1%), and Kent Mesplay 2 (1.4%). Ten votes went to “No Preference”, and there were 29 write-ins.

In Worcester, Stein received 21 votes (63.7%), and Mesplay 1 (3.0%). Three votes went to “No Preference”, and there were eight write-ins.


Stein wins 84.3% in Minnesota Green presidential caucuses

steinThe Green Party of Minnesota announced that Jill Stein won Tuesday’s presidential caucuses with 84.3% of the vote. Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry took 5.9%, Bill Kreml 4.8%, Darryl Cherney 2.4%, and Kent Mesplay 1.2%.

KARE-TV in Minneapolis spoke with Minnesota Green spokesman Brandon Long about the caucuses before the voting.


Green presidential primary in Massachusetts, caucuses in Minnesota today

candidatesThe Green-Rainbow Party of Massachusetts will hold its presidential primary today. Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET. The Green Party of Minnesota will hold its presidential caucuses at at least nine locations this evening, mainly from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. CT.

In both states, all five of the nationally recognized Green Party presidential candidates — Darryl Cherney, Sedinam Moyowasifsa-Curry, William Kreml, Kent Mesplay, and Jill Stein — will be options for voters.

The results will be posted on Green Party Watch when available.


Moyowasifza-Curry interviewed by New England Public Radio

curryGreen Party presidential candidate Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry was recently interviewed by New England Public Radio. The segment lasted about four and one-half minutes.

Moyowasifza-Curry said, “I’ve been a Green for 15 years. Running for president is something that helps grow our base. As a black woman within the Green Party — we’re a majority European-American party — in order not to be a social club, it’s important that we grow folks of color.”


Stein easily wins Illinois Green Party presidential preference vote

CJ9J5jiUAAEO4RLJill Stein has easily won the Illinois Green Party presidential preference vote, with nearly 87% of the total votes cast. The voting was as follows: Stein 119 (86.9%), William P. Kreml 5 (3.6%), Kent Mesplay 2 (1.5%), Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry 1 (0.7%), Darryl Cherney 0 (0.0%), uncommitted 10 (7.3%).

According to the Illinois Greens, the voting serves as the state party’s internal primary election for its presidential nominee and determines the makeup of the ILGP delegation to the 2016 Green Party Presidential Nominating Convention” in August. The Illinois delegation will consist of 20 Stein delegates, two uncommitted delegates, and one delegate pledged to Kreml.


Moyowasifza-Curry debates Libertarian presidential hopeful Perry

curry-perry-meetupGreen Party presidential candidate Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza-Curry recently debated Darryl Perry, one of 12 candidates for the Libertarian Party presidential nomination, as part of PublicSquare.net’s 2016 Presidential Debate Series.

According to PublicSquare.net, they “emerged from the debate with a healthy respect for each other.” Moyowasifza-Curry said, “The PublicSquare.net one-on-one debate format is a must! As Americans it is our individual duty to establish a more perfect blueprint for our national agenda to be set by a healthy exchange and debates.”

Perry agreed, saying, “Though Sedinam and I do have disagreements on some issues, I believe we have a mutual respect for one another — i.e. though we disagree, we are not disagreeable.” The two candidates even got together for dinner on the day after the debate, which will be posted online next month.


Five Greens to compete in California presidential primary; Stein off P&F ballot

candidatesThe office of California Secretary of State Alex Padilla has released the official list of candidates for the state’s June 7 presidential primary ballot, and, as Ballot Access News writes, “the list has some surprises.”

The Secretary of State added one name “to the Green Party’s list. The state party had not listed Sedinam Curry-Moyowasifa, but the Secretary of State added her anyway. She is a declared candidate for the Green Party presidential nomination, and she is on the Massachusetts Green Party’s presidential primary ballot.” The Green Party ballot will list Darryl Cherney, Sedinam Moyowasifsa-Curry, William Kreml, Kent Mesplay, and Jill Stein.

In addition, the Secretary of State “deleted one name from the Peace & Freedom list. He deleted Jill Stein, even though she wanted to be on that ballot. It may be that the Secretary of State removed her…because he decided it is improper for anyone to be listed in the presidential primary of two different ballots,” though California has no law to that effect. Gloria Estela La Riva, Lynn Sandra Kahn, and Monica Moorehead will be the only names on the Peace & Freedom Party ballot.